The Race is Long

Speaking Too Soon

Getting back on track after weeks of distractions, finally!

I went for my long run yesterday with the usual feeling of uncertainty. All week, I tried my best to prepare myself even though I had been feeling really low. But, really, running is the best thing I can do for myself at this point.

Yesterday’s run was nearly derailed by a heavy downpour as I was getting ready to head out. Good thing it stopped. I broke my run into 5k segments and took a couple of Clif Bar Shot Blocks every half hour or so.

This system seemed to work well. I felt good going into my fifteenth kilometer. I’m not sure if it was a mental thing, but starting into my sixteenth kilometer, I felt a sudden slowdown. I just could not move my feet or raise my knees. At first, I didn’t let it bother me too much, I thought of it as a brief rest. But as I looked at my Garmin and saw that I’m going even slower, it did start to bug me.

In short, it was a case of speaking too soon or congratulating myself too early. Well, not really. Of course, along the way, we all check ourselves—gauging how we feel at certain points; and I was really happy that I was feeling strong three quarters of the way into it. So, you can only imagine how deflating it was to bug out so suddenly even after taking care with my nutrition.

All in all, I’m still glad that even though it was a challenging finish, I wasn’t a total wreck by the time I got home. I did get a headache later in the day, which, I suspect had something to do with the morning’s effort. Otherwise, it was a very happy Sunday morning.


Leave a Reply

