Everyday Uncommon

Magical Angkor

Angkor, I’m ever so happy to finally see you.

It was a two-fer. I got to go to a place I’ve been dreaming to see for the longest and I got to squeeze in a half-marathon there, too.

Angkor is unbelievable. The abundance in texture, detail, and history is hard to take all in one go. I was lucky to have gone with people who are pretty gung-ho about going here and there, and scrambling up and down places, and getting dirty, so that bit was pretty good. Still, one day I hope to return and get my fill of it all; I still crave for more it seems. I, unfortunately, am not “templed-out.”

sunlight on Bayon wall detail

Sunlight on Bayon wall detail

Travel guide Meta with the story of Jayavarman VII's defeat of the Chams

Travel guide Meta with the story of Jayavarman VII’s defeat of the Chams

A rare, tourist-free frame of the stairs of Bayon

A rare, tourist-free frame of the stairs of Bayon

Another face from another opening

Another face from another opening

Doorways and fountains

Doorways and fountains

A view of Baphuon from the dried up ancient moat

A view of Baphoun from the dried up ancient moat

More to come in the next few. I’m still in transit. I just felt the need to share these as soon as possible.
Leave a Reply

