Everyday Uncommon

Pulling Myself Up

I’ve been down in the dumps—geez! It almost seems like a permanent condition with me so how can I tell the difference.

Let’s just say that I’ve been feeling more in the pits than usual lately. I can’t get myself to be more productive. I feel lazy. I want just veg out and not do anything. I want to run away and hide. I escape by reading. I enjoy my fantasy life better than my real one.

That last bit is alarming.

I’m making this particular effort to write here, as shallow as it is, in the hope that I can pull myself up from this bog.

What else have I got planned to effect my own rescue? Hmm… I’ve been thinking about it but that’s really stupid. I know myself enough, I should be “doing” rather than thinking.

For starters, I need to run more. I need to set a goal so I can drag my sorry bulk out of bed, out of the house, and out on the road or suffer some pretty severe consequences. That’s one. Sound mind, sound body as the saying goes.

I need to earn better and work toward better financial security. I haven’t figured that out yet but I suppose I should start by working better at my current job. My efforts there have gone down considerably.

I need to fix my head. As in see the head doctor for my pain (which I am very happy to report, have lessened in frequency and is truly a cause for celebration) and make sure that the current situation continues or better yet, improves.

The remaining bits, I’m not so sure what I can do about. Surround myself with friends—they’re very few. Be less lonely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

