Everyday Uncommon

Daughters Anonymous

I posted a few weeks ago on my Facebook page, “Hi, my name is ___ and I’m a daughter.”  And quite a number of friends understood what I meant.

I went to the hospital last Friday to donate blood. Just doing my bit.  My sister’s friend is also a daughter, also dealing with an ailing parent. I’m sadder than I can express for her. She is going through the despair of being a daughter, watching her beloved parent lose the battle with an illness and slip away. On Saturday morning, her father passed on.

After all the love and support that have come our way, and after knowing what it’s like to be terrified of losing a parent, I hope to be a more caring friend to other daughters (and sons) facing the same. We all need a support group sometimes.

Leave a Reply

